free at last, free at last

thank God almighty, I am free at last. the knit wasn’t actually bad enough to warrant that kind of talk; mostly i have just always wanted to say that. it does feel really, really good to have it done, though. i think you can probably recognize in my face the expression of a half-crazed, sleep-deprived knitter who has just achieved what is for that moment her only goal in life: finishing the goddamn sweater. it’s beautiful, i love it, i want to marry it. call it the early infatuation with an FO that took a lot of work, but i’m pretty sure this is the sexiest piece of clothing i own. obvo, it is missing some buttons. that will be remedied this weekend.

dry stuff:

pattern: knitty’s thermal, size A.
yarn: 6.5 skeins of knitpicks gloss.
gauge: slightly less than what was specified in the pattern. i.e. this should have been too small.
time to complete: 2.5 months. (score one for continental knitting.)

magically, this fits me perfectly. i had been planning to block it out to the length i prefer (“too long,” according to my mother.) but somehow, through a combination of my anxious habit of over-knitting and Sweater Magic, it fits exactly the way I like. sleeves and all. i cannot recommend this pattern highly enough; every detail, down the the bindoff of the neckband, is wonderfully exact and well-explained. it’s easy to do, with a marvelously professional result. i really just can’t find anything to complain about.

i actually finished this on monday; my goal was to finish it before august, and i succeeded. in the time since, i’ve gotten started on Twinkle’s Evening Shell, which I picked up the yarn for at my LYS on Saturday. can we talk about the gauge difference for a minute?

plymouth encore mega. now that is a yarn. (apparently i have a thing for burgundy right now? don’t judge me.) i’ll put up some pictures later, when there is more to show. it may be much later, because this weekend i am headed Out West for a while, and may be incommunicado. until then!

5 Comments

Filed under finished, knitting, new project

5 responses to “free at last, free at last

  1. Looks great, ignore Mom about length it looks perfect.

  2. Rachel

    Thanks! I agree.

  3. Kim

    congratulations to you!! I have stalled out on my thermal- but yours is inspiring me to pick it back up.

  4. Looks awesome! I wish mine was done. I fear I have a long, long way to go!

  5. Rachel

    i wish both of you luck – they’ll be so great when they’re done 🙂

Leave a Reply

