fee fie FO fum

i’m going to run out of witty titles soon. until then: some FOs, and stuff.

my brother’s birthday hat. this is not my brother wearing it; this is me. it is made out of buffalo wool, and shockingly soft. i was unable to photograph the birthday yarmulke i also made for him; it kind of needed work anyways.

 

this is the Ill-Advised and Self-Indulgent Shrug. I may have mentioned it earlier. this is, obviously, pre-blocking. made of paton’s shetland chunky in a nice green color, with an imperfectly executed sort of snowdrop lace thing going on. it’s waiting for buttons. (if you look carefully, you can also play Find That Object with my dorm room. Can you see the copy of Homer’s Odyssey, my favorite tea mug, and the Boy Scout cookie tin?)

 

This is tragicheroine’s Ribbed Lace Bolero. Duh. (please look at the bolero, and not my face, here.) As you can see, it is sort of… I don’t know, too big? How do you even make a rectangle too big? I modified the pattern for worsted weight yarn, which may have been part of my problem. I don’t know, boleros aren’t really my calling. (But shrugs are? What’s the difference?) Whatever, I wear it sometimes.

 


Last but not least, the WIP. This is going to be, eventually, a Gryffindor sweater, made for a personal swap. As you can see, I have a ways to go. I’m doing my best to finish it by Halloween; i can do that, right? A Thermal in 2.5 months makes a straight stockinette seamless raglan in one month seem like nothing. we’ll see how it goes.

After this is completed, the List of Things to Knit for Other People is, in order of urgency/length of knitting:

Sweater Vest, for the 6’2″ father
Pop-over gloves/Frankenmitts, for aunt
Scarf, for same aunt
Armwarmers, for Sibling.

What do you think? Can it all get done by December 25th? Tune in to find out!

3 Comments

Filed under finished, FOs, In Progress, knitting, new project, progress

3 responses to “fee fie FO fum

  1. I have to say that I kind of like the look of your looser bolero. The original looks like it might feel a bit tight in the underarms, and yours has a nice drape to it. Good luck on your list of things to do!

  2. Rachel

    Why thank you, Josie. I hadn’t thought of it that way.

  3. Jeff

    I love the buffalo skull cap you made for your bro. I have been looking all over the net for one just like it since I found out about buffalo wool. I have to ask how much it would cost to get one. I know the wool is costly and hard to find and your time, well if its like mine, twice as rare.
    Let me know.

Leave a Reply

